Italy - first cycle programmes

The flag of Italy is a tricolour featuring three equally sized vertical pales of green, white and red
Country: Italy
Population (mln): 60,62
Official language/s: Italian
Time zone: UTC+1 Winter, UTC+2 Summer
Internet TLD: .it
Calling code: +39
Member of the EU from: 25th March 1957
Unemployment rate Sep 2011 (%): 8.8
Unemployment rate under 25 years Sep 2011 (%): 30.4
Unemployment rate Sep 2012 (%): 35,9
Unemployment rate under 25 years Sep 2012 (%): 35.9
Population statistics 20-29 age group 2011 (%): 11
Country codes in education system: IT
Expected duration of education (years): 17

The new teaching regulations as provided for in DM 509/99 were implemented in the first cycle of university education. For some years, two main types of programmes and degrees will co-exist in Italian universities: the traditional one based on the former regulations which is gradually disappearing and the new ones based on the above mentioned regulations and the subsequent ministerial decrees.

Independently of the latest reform, the Italian university tuition fees and additional contributions to be paid by students are calculated on the basis of their income and may vary from one degree programme to the other according to course level, typology and subject area. The same regulations are applied to both Italian and foreign students. In the new system, undergraduate studies consist in Corsi di Laurea (CL) (first degree courses) which aim at guaranteeing students an adequate command of general scientific methods and contents as well as specific professional skills. The general access requirement is the Italian school leaving qualification, the Diploma di Superamento dell'Esame di Stato conclusivo dei Corsi di Istruzione Secondaria Superiore. Equivalent foreign qualifications may also be accepted. Admission to individual degree courses may be subject to specific requirements. First degree courses last for three years. The Laurea-L (first degree) is awarded to undergraduates who have obtained 180 credits.

TRADITIONAL UNIVERSITY SYSTEM: First level studies included Corsi di Diploma Universitario (DU) and courses run by the Scuole Dirette a Fini Speciali (SDAFS) (schools for special purposes), both leading to the award of a university degree called Diploma universitario (DU).  Both DU and SDAFS courses are gradually being phased out and replaced by the 3-year Laurea (L3), the new first degree offered by Italian universities.

Source: Eurydice,
Eurypedia - The European Encyclopedia on National Education Systems , Eurosta,, Agency for Science and Higher Education Croatia, Department of Education and Skills Irelan,  Ministry of Education and Culture - FINLAND
Privacy Policy