Second Cycle Programmes


Italy - Master's studies

The flag of Italy is a tricolour featuring three equally sized vertical pales of green, white and red
Country: Italy
Population (mln): 60,62
Official language/s: Italian
Time zone: UTC+1 Winter, UTC+2 Summer
Internet TLD: .it
Calling code: +39
Member of the EU from: 25th March 1957
Unemployment rate Sep 2011 (%): 8.8
Unemployment rate under 25 years Sep 2011 (%): 30.4
Unemployment rate Sep 2012 (%): 35,9
Unemployment rate under 25 years Sep 2012 (%): 35.9
Population statistics 20-29 age group 2011 (%): 11
Country codes in education system: IT
Expected duration of education (years): 17

Graduate studies include Corsi di Laurea Specialistica (CLS) and Corsi di Master Universitario di 1° livello (CMU1). 1) CLS provide graduates with an advanced level of education to exercise highly qualified activities in specific areas. Access to CLS is through the Italian first degree (L) or an equivalent foreign degree and the course lasts for two years. The final degree, the Laurea Specialistica- LS (second degree) is awarded to graduates who have obtained a total of 300 credits, including those of the first degree that have been recognized for access to the CLS (maximum 180). The writing of an original dissertation is also compulsory. A limited number of CLS regulated by specific EU directives (in Dentistry, Human Medicine, Veterinary Medicine) share the following features: access is through the Italian school leaving certificate or an equivalent foreign qualification, admission is always subject to an entrance examination; the course lasts for 5 years ( 6 in Human Medicine).  2) CMU1 consist in advanced scientific courses or higher continuing education studies that are open to holders of a Laurea-L or an equivalent foreign degree. Admission may be subject to additional conditions. The length of the course is a minimum of one year. The degree of Master Universitario di 1° livello -MU1 (first level university Master's) is awarded to graduates who have obtained at least 60 credits. The latest legal provisions on university education have changed the name of the Laurea Specialistica into "Laurea Magistrale" (LM), the related programme into "Corsi di Laurea Magistrale" (CLM) and "Corsi di Laurea Magistrale a ciclo unico" (CLMu) in Dentistry, Medicine and Veterinary Medicine.

TRADITIONAL UNIVERSITY SYSTEM: Second level studies consisted exclusively in Laurea Degree courses (Corso di Laurea, CL) which lasted from four to five years, depending on the faculty and the course. Only the Laurea degree course in Medicine and Surgery lasted for six years. The curricula of certain CLs were divided into two stages: a first two-year period which was considered as a preliminary stage with basic theoretical disciplines, and a second three-year stage consisting in specialized application and generally articulated in groups of more specific disciplines selected for specialization. A large number of these long programmes leading to the DL are already phased out.

Source: Eurydice,
Eurypedia - The European Encyclopedia on National Education Systems , Eurosta,, Agency for Science and Higher Education Croatia, Department of Education and Skills Irelan,  Ministry of Education and Culture - FINLAND

Study in Poland
Privacy Policy